Skip to main content

EKU Triumphs in Robert E. Sanders Kentucky Classic Tournament

EKU Triumphs in Robert E. Sanders Kentucky Classic Tournament

Eastern Kentucky University’s Mock Trial Team took first place in the Robert E. Sanders Kentucky Classic Tournament held on October 26-28, 2012.  EKU's victory was its second in the past three years at the Robert E. Sanders Kentucky Classic.

EKU and Bellarmine University co-hosted the tournament in Louisville.  The event was sponsored by EKU distinguished alumnus Robert E. Sanders.

Miami University took second place, followed by UCLA, Vanderbilt, and Loyola-Chicago.  The first-place EKU team conducted trials against UCLA, Miami, Sullivan, and Furman.

Barbara McDermott, a political science major from Richmond who competed on EKU’s second team, received an Outstanding Witness Award.

EKU's first-place team at the tournament consisted of entirely sophomores and freshmen. Members of the first-place team were: Jade Petty, psychology major from Richmond; Caleb Taylor, political science major from Union; Damir Siahkoohi, homeland security major from Irvine; Anthony Sean Potter, political science and anthropology major from Whitesburg; Matthew Boggs, chemistry major from Whitesburg; Joshua Lang, political science major from Fort Thomas; and Keifer Kentrup, philosophy major from Taylor Mill. Siahkoohi, Potter, Boggs, Lang and Kentrup are also members of the EKU Honors Program.

The team is coached by Josh Leckrone, Lynnette Noblitt, Tom Parker and Sara Zeigler.

Support for EKU's Mock Trial Program is provided by University Programs, the College of Justice & Safety, the Department of Government, and the College of Arts & Sciences, in addition to Robert E. Sanders.

Contact Information

Dr. Sara Zeigler

Published on October 31, 2012

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/